Posted by: mylifeisnick | May 22, 2011

The world needs more dreamers like Ponyboy!

“Socs were just guys after all.  Things were rough all over, but it was better that way.  That way you could tell the other guy was human too.”  Ponyboy Curtis

Wisdom!  Gosh!  This 14 year old greaser, I mean kid, really knows his stuff and sees the world better than I do!  For those who don’t know the reference, I’m reading The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton.  It’s incredible and life-changing and young adult fiction.  I should probably change my career path and be a middle school English teacher.  Alas.  Anyway, back to the point.

Greasers have got it figured out, at least Ponyboy and his brothers do.  Sodapop, Ponyboy, and Darry are dirt broke when it comes to dollars, but are richer than anyone else I know when it comes to love and brotherhood.  What a lesson the church can learn from greasers.  They’ve got each others backs.  They don’t talk smack.  They love SACRIFICIALLY, even when it means risking a meal, risking hurt, or risking their own lives.  Johnny dies to save strangers.  He was BORN to be a hero and he was born on the wrong side of the tracks.  I hope Christians pay attention to this, because I see more of Jesus in the way these greasers live than in how we as Christians live.  Myself included!  They put others first!  When do we do that!?  We’re all about personal relationships with Jesus Christ… Well that’s not enough!  That relationship means your life is different and changed and that you can’t sit by and watch people kill and be killed!  What are we doing!?

Listen to Ponyboy!  Dream!  Stop and watch the sunset!  Realize that things are rough all over, whether you’ve got money or not, or family or not, or love or not.  Everyone is missing something and EVERYONE has something to share.  I preached this tonight, and desperately pleaded with my junior highers to LIVE as the body of Christ, but I think I was pleading with myself more.  I don’t do this.  I talk smack.  I shrink away from awkwardness.  I hold grudged and act bitter.  But I am choosing here and now to LISTEN to Jesus, and to let Him speak through Ponyboy (Because Jesus DOES speak through literature).  I’m going to be a Greaser.  I’m going to care more about others than I do about myself!  I’m going to be quick to forgive, quick to offer healing, quick to sacrifice my own safety, security and comfort.  Why?  Because I see the wrong in my life and the ways my life denies Chrsit because i have looked through the lens of this greaser who is also a dreamer.

Well I’m a dreamer too, and I dream of a church that actually lives like Jesus.  I dream of myself living like Jesus.  I dream, hope and now, I begin to act.  I’m going to mess up and fall but I WILL walk forward and stumble in the right direction.  Jesus IS Lord, and I am more convinced of that everyday!  I want to live for Him and I have NO RIGHT to preach Him with my words if I’m not preaching Him with my actions!

So there you have it.  No editing and very little pauses for breath.  We need more dreamers like Ponyboy, and us Christians need to LISTEN to what we ear.  Don’t be a soc, be a greaser, and be a greaser for Jesus and embody the kind of community we see in Acts and Christ ASKS us to embody.  Ready, set, go.

Don’t worry.  We’re all in this together so you don’t have to do it yourself.  The world needs more people like Ponyboy.  Are you willing?  Would you jump into the burning building to save strangers?  Do you matter more than others?  Let’s rock this and listen to dear Ponyboy.

P.S.  Don’t be afraid to let fiction speak to you like this.  We all need to listen to the voices in our lives, cause God can work and move!  Holler!

Leave a Reply

Categories

